Have You Ever Tried To Bathe A Cat? Turning Thirty Is The Opposite Of That.

Standard

Today I’m thirty years old. Yesterday, I wasn’t. I’ve taken it upon myself to organize a celebration in the form of pajamas all day. Holla! 🙂

The onset of middle age isn’t anything I expected. The deep pontifications of growth, time, and change haven’t hit me like I thought they would. I woke up in the same foggy-brained body in which I fell asleep and my coffee tasted no more bittersweet than usual.

So what makes these birthdays– the ones with a zero in them– such a big deal?

I’ve felt thirty since I was twelve. Maybe that’s why it feels so uneventful to turn thirty; maybe not. I’m an infant by comparison to almost all of the people I care about and it’s always been that way. My entire life I’ve stood on the outside of something greater than myself, stretching to see over some metaphorical fence to find a place I belong, a crowd that makes sense, some collective group of like-minded people who might provide my brain a reprieve from the monotonies of living. It’s why I started this blog, even.

And over the course of the past year since it began, I’ve certainly found my niche. Here in this space, I have an entire world of compassionate and intelligent people at my fingertips. I found a brother (Sprinklin Thoughts) and a few powerful people who I’ve come to consider friends (Wayward Spirit, Travis, Alarna Rose Gray, Jennifer Stuart, Sean Bidd, The Loon, Lucas A. Draeger, and many wonderful others). Not only have I found a place to build my bonfires, I’ve discovered company in which to stay warm and inspired beside them. The kind of kin that only the internet and a burning desire to be part of something could provide.

Thanks, WordPress. Happy birthday to me. 🙂

So while I’m playing in my flowerbeds and making dinner in pajamas, maybe someone can shed some light for me. What’s with all the fuss about “getting old”? Am I the only one who likes it?

About Brandy Desiree

"Call on me, and I will show you great and unsearchable things you do not know." --Jeremiah 33:3 I am a seeker. A lover. A doer. A thinker. I make music, I dance often, and I laugh. It's all hilarious, really. Everything. Look around you. My children teach me a lot about life. I have five boys, and yes I'm out of my mind. It works for me though; I think this world could honestly use just a little more crazy. A lot of humanity's problems could be solved by everybody taking themselves a little less seriously. I'm grateful and alive; a constantly evolving creature, thankful for the sunshine and just as thankful for the rain... Visit my corner of the universe and share yourself! My heart could implode with welcome for you.

8 responses »

  1. Baby, it just gets better! Pat yourself on the back for noticing.
    Happy birthday Brandy!
    Welcome to my decade.
    I know It’s always been yours, yet now you really get to enjoy it. Life ripens like WordPress and fruit trees.
    You are wrong about one thing though.Middle age has no buisness

  2. You just gave me such a big smile! Happy Birthday to you, chick!! You know…I hope you will take this as a compliment… I had you pegged more for mid thirties – what with all your life experience and that voice of yours, which exudes confidence. And no! You’re not the only one who likes getting old. My only real ambition as a child was to be a grown up…so welcome to the world of grow ups!

    A wise old hippie once said to me you can often see – even in a child – what ‘age’ they are going to grow into. 30 sounds like the perfect age, to me 😉

  3. Ma’am, I would hardly call 30 middle aged, but that’s just me. Personally, I think it is less about growing older and more about the realisation that whatever goals any particular person is yet to accomplish now has less time to succeed in such endeavors, or something. I too have always liked being older and I always add a couple digits onto whatever age I am, but supposedly in the future the opposite is going to happen and I will instead want the clock to go backwards, but I do suppose it is different for everyone. Whatever the case, I hope you have a great birthday ma’am. Cheers!

  4. Happy birthday, sweet sister. I’m learning to enjoy getting older as well. I just turned 38 last month, and I’m only now learning the pure liberation that comes with pajamas all day. Congrats to you for learning it earlier. 🙂
    Much love and blessings to you.

  5. As the world travels right now,
    Its days and seasons around the Sun.
    There’s girl outside in her pajamas,
    Tending flowerbeds, having fun.

    In younger days a gypsy soul,
    Her wayfaring took her far.
    As she ventured many places,
    And met those too free to roam.

    Till came a time to settle down,
    To stretch her branches out.
    Found some roots to propagate,
    Grow her home as best with gypsy feet.

    Here a girl born so full of wonder,
    So alive, so fresh her conversations.
    A writer with deep connections watered,
    A writer of the wandering times, past and future.

    Whether siting high up on a ridge top,
    Pondering the many changes up ahead.
    Or walking hand in hand with her kin,
    Places her soul travels alive in every step.

    But today’s her day now just gone,
    She’s turned one score and ten.
    All wrapped up in her pajamas,
    Celebrating time just how she pleases.

    Could one think it could travel any other way…
    Happy Birthday, Brandy!
    From here in the land beneath a southern cross,
    Where the pacific rests peaceful this winter’s day…

    Sean with a bit of laughter.. I’m a little late, but I hope that’s okay

    The thirties were good, I get to celebrate the ones with zero/s a little every time each new decade rolls around, ever since the launch of Apollo 13.. Hope the weekend’s been good too!!

  6. So glad I stumbled across your blog. I like your style. I just turned thirty 1.5 times in Oct. if ya get what I am saying. lol. I keep a young playful heart and treat age as just what it is. A number. Keep fit and stay young of mind and heart and feeling old is a myth. (Most of the time). Anyway happy belated Birthday, and I can’t wait to look around more and read what you share. As well as keep track of your new work.
    Keep Inspiring

Speak to me...

