Nakedness, dawn breaking. Feel.

Standard
Nakedness, dawn breaking. Feel.

Emotions,
Wet blankets hanging us
The guts wrench
With twisting sensations
Of sickness
Bodies and lives

A song can take us by surprise
And just as quickly, kill us

Our ideas for tomorrow from the wilting of the spring’s tulip
Take their lead
In this oppressive summer heat

Unquenched kisses for woman primed, for a lady who will and has
Wait
Like knees in the fold of an ironed slack, a tug,
A pull, an infinite night for years upon years
Heaps of them all piled
Are piling

Can the forward motion go on
A lifetime without being kissed back

Empty lips, hollow soul
Unfold into nothing, explode

And still the winter will swallow
The seeds from the tulip inside,
As if tucking a death into one’s self
Should be so easy
…It is, in this small way

Seamless greed, the autumn keeps
Its secrets free of shame
And me, uneased
Unhinged and thieved
And always never being the same

But I a lonely nocturne came
And in
The shutting doors
The fruitless branch
The hiding place
Will be remained

A tight-rope walking
Dance of flame
A lonely girl
A nameless name

The breasted beak
Will speak and break

Out, away, forever

About Brandy Desiree

"Call on me, and I will show you great and unsearchable things you do not know." --Jeremiah 33:3 I am a seeker. A lover. A doer. A thinker. I make music, I dance often, and I laugh. It's all hilarious, really. Everything. Look around you. My children teach me a lot about life. I have five boys, and yes I'm out of my mind. It works for me though; I think this world could honestly use just a little more crazy. A lot of humanity's problems could be solved by everybody taking themselves a little less seriously. I'm grateful and alive; a constantly evolving creature, thankful for the sunshine and just as thankful for the rain... Visit my corner of the universe and share yourself! My heart could implode with welcome for you.

12 responses »

    • You’ve clicked that like button on more of my pieces than most, yet I’ve wondered all along if you actually read them; mysterious being, creature of curiosity, I am honored by your first official comment here. Cheers! And thank you for speaking my way 🙂

    • Luke!!

      I am not your father.

      Just kidding. 🙂

      My closest female friend just so happened to be sitting next to me when I read your comment. It tickled my fancy so much that I read it to her, and we undividedly agree that you’re good people. I’ve enjoyed your writing for a long time but that’s a formal kind of appreciation. A drum circle, however…

      You speaka my language. 🙂

  1. Like a stream high upon a plateau, the words, the lines build, until a mighty river of thought, runs,rushes, weaves down through the high country, galloping towards flight, searching through the turbulent churning waters, deep fathoms within the mind, the existing, unto seek your diverse sea, far out beyond the falls, and reaches through the bends of clear deep river blues, and sand swept beds, where tall the grasses bow to the breezes of your diverse, and living sea, amongst the lands, the country of your soul.

    Here the parched red dust upon an Antarctic Southerly, rides the chill of a Winter’s night, skimming the lands of the Red Heart as it waits for the wildflowers, and The Wet to arrive…

    • As the minds and the poems therefrom have long reminded,
      The flowers-wild need not return, for there they be
      still
      Within the folding-kempt tuck where-which hibernate
      Bring themselves, their tidy infant essence, mere offspring
      From the year before’s bloom
      Against winter and out from her sadist tomb
      The flowers’-wild defiance pulls through
      The ice never stood a chance

      And only twice in my sheltered, quasi-educated life
      Have I been reminded, told
      That summer for me for you means cold
      Polarities make for balance, sweet soul

      And I, you leave me
      Grateful

      Much like the earth and her promise of seeds
      A harvest for tomorrow

  2. this branch of the tree of you…
    bears good fruit…
    ripening in colors that please…
    hinting at taste to come…
    the nutrition of goodness…
    to share with kindred souls…

    like this, Love you…
    M

  3. Lovely post.

    What jumps out at me are the lines,

    ” Empty lips, hollow soul
    Unfold into nothing, explode.”

    What could be behind such empty lips and hollow soul? What makes us be this way?

    Shakti

    • Thank you for reading and responding with such deep reflection.

      In answer, I can only speak from an account of my own experience. Every one person has a unique set of guiding motivations that compel behavior, and empty lips/hollow soul might be fitting to many distinct interpretations. In this case however, pride.

      Laziness.

      Vain ambition.

      Selfishness.

      I’ve acted with each of these attributes in my life and I’m not above criticism. But the intolerance here has merit. If you could see my plight firsthand, assuming you’re a person of much common sense, you might be less tactful than I’ve been.

      Yin and yang though. That’s life. I’ll celebrate the good and I’ll grow from the bad. Blessings 🙂

Speak to me...

