The Guardians of My Heart

Standard
The Guardians of My Heart

My children, my litter of dewdrops, my empty womb;
Men in the making
Whose smiles reach my sight with the propensity of blisters
My anxieties collecting just to linger there
Threatening to burst at the slightest touch
Reach too close, love too much, mother them just enough and pop! disappear
Is it practicality or fear?
I watch them in the meadow, the open spanse of nature across the hurry from where we live
A lone donkey in a barbed cage of wire waits like puberty
On the shore of his lot in life
In time, he has not once let us down
Stands taught, posture of a proud soul, still and quiet and expectant
As a fed animal should be
Routine; the feedings, the adventures of these walks, the passing of their childhood and innocence before my eyes

My heart takes its beatings in this way

About Brandy Desiree

"Call on me, and I will show you great and unsearchable things you do not know." --Jeremiah 33:3 I am a seeker. A lover. A doer. A thinker. I make music, I dance often, and I laugh. It's all hilarious, really. Everything. Look around you. My children teach me a lot about life. I have five boys, and yes I'm out of my mind. It works for me though; I think this world could honestly use just a little more crazy. A lot of humanity's problems could be solved by everybody taking themselves a little less seriously. I'm grateful and alive; a constantly evolving creature, thankful for the sunshine and just as thankful for the rain... Visit my corner of the universe and share yourself! My heart could implode with welcome for you.

4 responses »

    • Hey. I’ve missed you. I’ve got a catching-up type project in the works… If I had any sense I’d quit trying to put it all in one long message — a novel you receive about once a decade — and instead split it up, create some type of flow… you know. I’ll try that instead k? 🙂

  1. Reminds me of the lyrics… “Like sunshine through the rain…” and when sunshine passes through the rain, the delightful colours and smiles it brings… These moments can continue beyond innocence, in across, and through the sparse passing moments of time…

Speak to me...

