Ruminations

Standard

I am certain of nothing but the holiness of the heart’s affections, and the truth of imagination.
John Keats

Before it all begins
–precipatory to our genesis
and preceding our predispositions–
There is a power

In the life unformulated,
Unindoctrinated;
In that new, hungry, undiluted brain
(Like crystal unformed
Or infant unwaned)
–In the dying embers of an amber heat–
Lies a pulsing need
Still unabstained

wanderlust

In time it fades
Evolving into the plagued shade
Of a writer’s mind
The grown-older kind
Its wonder repressed beneath years of lost time

It churns and kneads, compels within us
…setting our whole life on fire with want
Familial zephyr
Enrapturing flame

Ubiquitous impulse
To be unenslaved
…free in the footloose
unbridled, untamed…

It finds us as Dreamers
Who dare to be found
Barefoot meanderers
White oleander
With breeze on our breath and our feet on the ground

Barehanded touch
Nomadic and love
Knowing it growing it
seeing it made
With dirt and the earth and the wild
the brave! longing in us
Will reckon our life from its grave

We all have this gypsy
Within us and caged
Societal zoo
Maniacal maze
We silence our wisdoms
–exchange the weight in them–
For nothingness; government mandated “truths”
Silver-type spoon-fed and swallowed; depraved

They fit so we wear them
Our patriot shoes
In mindless compliance
Unthinking, behaved
Worn down to the tread
To the soul, wearing through

Have you noticed it too?
Do you know I mean?

Heavy and seem
How it hangs and then lingers
Vanquishing dreams
Steals the song from the singers
The bell from its ringers
While no one around
Can distinguish the sound
We are keeping and reaping

The beeping! Insanity everywhere beeping
That purchasing noise
Of corporate consumption
Machines that eat money
And children though, too
Then lead us to claim
It’s by this we are soothed

The knowledge knows nothing
When out of its mind

The carnivores chew
Every bite mass-produced
No famine is lessened yet no one objections
We starve as oblivion keeps us consumed

But oh!
To be free!
To the tangible feel
To the life that we choose
To the fate that we seal
To the mountains we climb
To the time we awake
To the longing alive
In these words on this page

Only a wakeful perception can save

The best for the last
Through the compass within
A lofty goal lifted hope sense of direction
Combat the directionlessness of our age

To see a new vision
and blaze a new trail
To give hope a voice
and to turn a new page
The body has fingerprints and DNA
The soul has regrets and nostalgia turned rage

Everyone, on some “permission” awaits
But why?
It isn’t the world, as some say
It’s magic in mind
That’s providing the stage

Wrestle your fears to submission
–the mission–
To learn once again how to dance
How to dream
Believe and be changed and be free
celebrate!

About Brandy Desiree

"Call on me, and I will show you great and unsearchable things you do not know." --Jeremiah 33:3 I am a seeker. A lover. A doer. A thinker. I make music, I dance often, and I laugh. It's all hilarious, really. Everything. Look around you. My children teach me a lot about life. I have five boys, and yes I'm out of my mind. It works for me though; I think this world could honestly use just a little more crazy. A lot of humanity's problems could be solved by everybody taking themselves a little less seriously. I'm grateful and alive; a constantly evolving creature, thankful for the sunshine and just as thankful for the rain... Visit my corner of the universe and share yourself! My heart could implode with welcome for you.

9 responses »

    • PASSION, I can feel! How affirming to my soul!

      I have to beg of you one favor. There have been a handful of times you’ve liked one of my posts (much appreciated!) but not commented; if a fellow blogger sees your gravatar icon and in curiosity tries to check out your blog they cannot find it because there isn’t a link to it on your gravatar. If you feel so compelled, you should set up your gravatar profile so that others can readily find you on the occasion you didn’t comment (comments are the only link access we’re given). Unless you have it that way on purpose of course. 😉

      Happy living! Thanks for commenting!

  1. best thing I’ve read in a long time… and I think one of your best too – has cadence and I found it fun to read, even though is serious… 🙂
    I think you’re right about the mission too…
    Love you,
    M

    • I got sunshine, on a cloudy day. When it’s cold outside, I got the month of May.

      My guy!

      I wish I could time travel and go fifteen minutes into the future to hug you real big real huge all at once that madcrazy joy coming crashing upon us. Then I’d hop back and add to this comment..

      Thank you so much. Favorite person, beautiful brother, that hug can now last me a lifetime.

    • I had the swift misfortune of likewise consuming a cheeseburger from a fast food place recently. I had no other options and my blood sugar was dangerously low.

      I only felt more sick afterwards. Tasted good. But not to my spirit.

      I loved your recent post.

      For all my other readers, check Lucas out. Quality material.

  2. I’ll say, I need to hear this one too… I love the life of a voyaging wayfarer, brave in heart, and seeker on nondescript destinations, with their verse upon their tongue… I’d travel with them, anytime, anywhere, across the vast oceans and wilderness, between the worlds of the many peoples’.

Speak to me...

