Some kind of strange.

Standard

You can be having one of those days
When sunlight hurts the eyes
And sleep is all you think you need

But enduring past the sharp feelings
Finds you sudden surprise
One after another

I just went to the store.
Coffee coffee
I pull in, switch the car off
And then.
Wow.

Out of a pastel blue minivan
With trucker hats in the windshield
(Portable shelf of countrified treasures)
Steps this lady
Four whole feet of woah
Tall, in all. Not much.
Fully adorned in biker gear
I’m talking black leather chaps
Over jeans with holes worn through the knees
A brightest orange bandana
Pulling her temples too tightly together

A minivan.
With leather knuckle gloves
And Harley Davidson
Steel toed boots

Four whole feet
Oh yes
I am awake now

Thanks, absurdist universe
I really needed a
Reality break

Oh, but wait!

Get back in my car with
Coffee, coffee
And then walks this person
…gangster dude
Corn rolls with
sagging-est britches I ever saw, too
Reebok hightops
And shiny gold teeth

He sure was wearing lots of green

Is there a new gang I haven’t heard of?
Eastside leprechauns?
Irish homey crew
With no shred of modesty
Or slightest clue

Digress.

Approaching me?!
No. Need this coffee, no no no…
Yep. And it’s too late now to roll up my window
“What it do, hottie? I be
Rollin with bank
Spend it all up on ya
You know, you know!
Yo name be Rachel
Ya member me boo? Ya member the way we roll wich you
You know, you know
You be axin me fo
My numba agin?”

Oh no wrong person day and week
At least my coffee isn’t out to surprise me
Today

Tastes so perfectly sweet

About Brandy Desiree

"Call on me, and I will show you great and unsearchable things you do not know." --Jeremiah 33:3 I am a seeker. A lover. A doer. A thinker. I make music, I dance often, and I laugh. It's all hilarious, really. Everything. Look around you. My children teach me a lot about life. I have five boys, and yes I'm out of my mind. It works for me though; I think this world could honestly use just a little more crazy. A lot of humanity's problems could be solved by everybody taking themselves a little less seriously. I'm grateful and alive; a constantly evolving creature, thankful for the sunshine and just as thankful for the rain... Visit my corner of the universe and share yourself! My heart could implode with welcome for you.

7 responses »

  1. How in God’s green goodness do you turn everything into poetry?? It’s so prettty! Mine would be like

    4 hours sleep

    No wanna wear makeup

    Acne, eczema, biopsy biopsy biopsy

    Cryo cryo cryo cryo

    10 minute lunch!!??

    Eczema, acne, biopsy biopsy biopsy

    Don’t yell ” I’m gonna stick a banana in my tailpipe” in the hallway

    Throw hole puncher in floor, then accidentally hit self in knee because its jammed

    Sigh.

    PS: I didn’t yell that in the hallway. The doctor I work for did. And it was hilarious.

    • A breathless moment of humiliated panic. My actual response to him? “The sun is shining, the weather is sweet now!” in my best Bob Marley impersonation, raising my coffee in the air as if joining in some invisible toast to random ridiculousness, and slowly backed away from his general direction — literally, until I had completely backed out of the parking lot and onto the adjacent highway.

      Umyeah. I’m not real great with awkward situations. I’m known to amplify the unbearableness of them.

      Maybe I should’ve impersonated him instead. In his own language, with his own words, like it was a perfectly acceptable thing to do. You know, you know! Even better.

Speak to me...

