Love: Quantifying the Unquantifiable

Standard

The following post was completely inspired by my all-time favorite blogger, Mr. M (also known as the Great SprinklinThoughts). He happens to be my spiritual brother — my only brother — and a powerful human being with this mad-crazy, uncanny grip on all things meaningful. His recent piece moved me, and challenged me to dig deep deep down into the center of who I am — and examine just exactly what I’m made of. Read his post, and share your thoughts with him on his blog.

“Saying I Love You” by SprinklinThoughts

Then, if you’re still free for a second or two, swing back by here and let me know what you think.

Here is what I had to say in response to the question SprinklinThoughts inspired, “Why do we water down ‘love’?” (To paraphrase; why are we afraid to say ‘I love you’?)

There are two forms of love (this is the duality of love); worldly love, and spirit love. We could also look at is as conditional love, and agape love. Or human love, and divine love. Or limited love, and infinite love.

While there are undeniably a few highly enlightened human beings who have mastered an understanding of limitless, unconditional, divine agape love, there is an inescapable humanness in the application, or expression of that kind of love.

Due to the limitations of our carnal nature, even the most pure and holy of men will somehow fall short in the expression of agape love.

I find this motivating, however — not debilitating — to our practice of walking in this kind of love; speaking of this kind of love; holding on dearly to this sacred kind of love. We cannot run from purity just because perfection is unobtainable; that is all the more reason to pursue it doggedly; unabashedly; wildly, with all we’ve got.

People shy away from what they cannot comprehend. People are trepidatious of the unfamiliar… And in the case of “I love you,” everyone on the receiving end typically asks the internal question “Okay, what is this person wanting from me?” Tragic, that we have allowed our spirits to become so guarded and skeptical; and yet in this greedy and heartless culture we have collectively created for ourselves, it is the most practical and protective measure we subconsciously take to prevent any possible vandalization of what small sacredness we have managed to retain within ourselves.

I say we rise up and teach the world how to love again. How to love without demand, without expectation, without reason or justification.

I say we return to the holiness from which we came, and dwell in the vibration of agape sincerity, and give it without hesitation or reservation — and do it OFTEN.

About Brandy Desiree

"Call on me, and I will show you great and unsearchable things you do not know." --Jeremiah 33:3 I am a seeker. A lover. A doer. A thinker. I make music, I dance often, and I laugh. It's all hilarious, really. Everything. Look around you. My children teach me a lot about life. I have five boys, and yes I'm out of my mind. It works for me though; I think this world could honestly use just a little more crazy. A lot of humanity's problems could be solved by everybody taking themselves a little less seriously. I'm grateful and alive; a constantly evolving creature, thankful for the sunshine and just as thankful for the rain... Visit my corner of the universe and share yourself! My heart could implode with welcome for you.

26 responses »

  1. Oh boy… Brandy, (first of all thank you) when you made the comment on my post I thought “this comment is so good she should post it on her blog” but I didn’t want to say anything ’cause it was already posted (as the comment)… yet, within three hours, voila! here it is… once again you amaze me with your insight (a most excellent post)… once again I am amazed… keep the Pure fire of Love burning.

  2. Brandy,

    Thank you for this! His words, your words, their words. May they be sparks that ignite a wild fire!

    To quote Lenny Kravitz, “We’ve got to let Love rule!”

    🙂

    • Love. Love loudly. Love biggest and most of all. Love like love is your top priority. Love like you’ve never loved before.

      Its gonna throw some people off. You might catch a few weird vibes, get a few strange looks; love anyway.

      This is the Love Revolution!!!!! Dig it! 🙂

      I wrote in an early post of mine, “When I love, I love like a forest on fire. I don’t know how to do it any other way.”

      I said that as though it were a great flaw of mine, because “…in a love like that, there’s almost always something that gets burned…”

      Well, let’s just burn the whole thing down. The stipulations and the conditions; the preconceived notions and the expectations; we are waging a war against the notion that Pure Love doesn’t exist.

      You great spirits are proof.

  3. It seems that the further we travel along this path, the more insight we gain – certainly true by the looks of this post… I (for one) have noticed also that my interactions with the real world (both people and Nature) are refining a Pure and Holy intent… know what? I like this… thank you.

  4. Thank you so much for introducing us to Mr. M and spreading heart love all over the place. I would be honored to re-blog this post, your beauty radiantly shines through. Cheers!

  5. I love your perspective, as always. Aside from the struggle we often experience in hearing “I love you” because we worry what the person wants from us, I think we struggle with saying it (I do, anyway) for the same reason. What will this person expect of me? Will they take advantage of me? Take a crap on me when I’m vulnerable?
    But you’re right, truly you are. Love is in short supply. Insignificant, tertiary relationships we have in abundance, but not love.
    Blessings, dear

    • I love this reply.

      I think we are all too encumbered with our own inner doubts and fears, and everyone else’s tendency of stomping on our purity of love, to extend it completely free of reservation.

      We need to overcome this!

  6. Pingback: The Social Impact of the Internet | My Latter Half

  7. Pingback: Naughty or Nice? | My Latter Half

  8. “holding on dearly to this sacred kind of love. We cannot run from purity just because perfection is unobtainable; that is all the more reason to pursue it doggedly; unabashedly; wildly, with all we’ve got”

    Love this.

    “sacred kind of love” really stood out to me. Something we surely must seek to re-centre ourselves on every day. It’s the only kind of love that is truly alive, truly empowering.

    Thanks for sharing.

  9. Pingback: Love is a Fire… « A Kiss Of Bliss

  10. Pingback: People Are to Die For « YourJesusMind

Speak to me...

