How To Get High. Really High. On Life.

Standard
How To Get High. Really High. On Life.

Much of humanity suffers in denial and dismay for the simple lack of allowing the self to be human.

We resist much of what comes naturally to us: grief, sorrow, disappointment, melancholy, introspection, honesty, awareness, and pain (to name a few).

We waste such a great portion of our lives doing mindless trivial things to stimulate an empty entertainment of our happiness-hooked brains; when most of that time would be easily manifested into a genuine and lasting experience of joy —simply by embracing life, as is.

We spend our adolescence rushing towards an overly romanticized adulthood, and spend adulthood chasing after a fantasy of the childhood we never actually lived. We want our french fries and we want to eat them too. At three am. On a school night. We want our bicycles back and we want to ride them too. At three am. On a work night.

What can we do to transform ourselves? How does a person evolve from the mindless pursuit of immediate gratification to an existence filled with lasting satisfaction?

We must develop a sincere recognition of our feelings, and bravely acknowledge them — in spite of the discomfort and awkwardness they present for us. We must step boldly in front of ourselves with eyes wide open. We’ve got to establish an unshakeable confidence in our own personal power; a deep abiding trust that no matter how the circumstances may seem, we are a people who are going places. We might get taken under, on occasion, by invisible currents we weren’t prepared to swim against. But even still, we are headed somewhere. We are a force in motion. And so:

We keep on keeping on.

This is an excerpt from my comment in response to a post of Robert Hookey’s. You can find him (and said post) at http://youvebeenhooked.wordpress.com …’The Hook’ is a published author with an approachable point of view. For direct access to his blog, please view the first comment below; there you will find a ‘clickable’ hyperlink.

11 responses »

  1. Where do I begin, Brandy? Your compassion and kindness are exceeded only by your literary prowess.
    This was a beautiful, heartfelt post and I can never thank you enough.

  2. I wish you were my neighbor. I would go to your house annoyingly every day, and make you hold my hands in yours, look me in the eye, and say one sentence out of that glorious head of yours. And I think, in the span of a few days, I could be a completely different person, or at least the person I really want to be.

    You are fabulous.

  3. This line is amazing: “We spend our adolescence rushing towards an overly romanticized adulthood, and spend adulthood chasing after a fantasy of the childhood we never actually lived.” But then again, so are so many of the lines in everything you write. But that one stuck to me.
    I have a great idea!
    I’m going to make a “coincidence dance” and do it each time I read something from you that is along the lines of what I’ve been thinking about. Then I’ll have a way to physically express the joy that bubbles up in me when I start to read your words and feel like I just jumped into some universe made of great psychological mirrors that finally reflect the things I like seeing.
    Thank you for your words, my friend!

Speak to me...

