Somebody Just Died

Standard
Somebody Just Died

In fact, a lot of people just died.

It happens every single time the clock ticks another second away.

Click, death. Click, death.

The sixty seconds comprising one single minute of our frazzled day each bear witness to more tragedy than our brains can comprehend, let alone measure.

Click, death. Click, death.

And looking back upon the history of humanity, it is always in these moments of catastrophic loss — the instantaneous death of thousands (Hiroshima, Hurricane Katrina, 9/11, the Oklahoma City bombing, the massive earthquake/tsunami in Japan, the list goes on and on…) — in which the internal goodness of humankind becomes visible.

Why is that? What is so morally corrupt with a world that waits for unspeakable grief to act with compassion?

I visited New York City three years after 9/11. You’d never guess what took place only three years prior by the way this city and its people were functioning… As if nothing had happened. As if they would all live forever, and the day-to-day manner in which they conducted their affairs held no weight over their sense of moral obligation to their fellow-man.

Click, death. Click, death.

Must we really be reminded? Must we depend so completely on horror and pain for our behavior towards others to matter?

It’s painstaking, just thinking about the implications this has over what has happened to our collective consciousness. We live in a world in which consumerism takes precedence over philanthropy; fashion has more appeal than inner beauty; religion is held in higher esteem than spirituality; and the world just keeps on spinning.

What if we all paused, simultaneously, and took just one moment to allow our focus to settle on the more substantial aspects of our existence?

What if, for even one day, we consciously made an effort to actually be what we believe ourselves to be? Compassionate. Intrinsically good-natured. Grateful for our freedoms — which so many men and women have bravely laid down their lives to provide for the rest of us…

Click, death. Click, death.

Every single second, people are losing this very opportunity to take a pause from the rat race and truly embrace the things held dear. What will it take for us to utilize each precious moment we are given?

Today is an important day. It’s a gift that wasn’t given to many, many others. Take advantage of the air in your lungs, the shoes on your feet, the loved ones still hanging around on planet earth. Go see them. Tell them what makes them important to you. Express your gratitude to the Maker above that you woke up this morning, and commit yourself to making this day matter somehow.

Even if it’s something as small as holding the door for a stranger; you have the power to change the world. All it takes is one gesture of kindness, and your intentions (once acted upon) become a thread of goodness, woven into the master fabric of our collective existence.

I believe in the goodness of humankind. Do you?

About Brandy Desiree

"Call on me, and I will show you great and unsearchable things you do not know." --Jeremiah 33:3 I am a seeker. A lover. A doer. A thinker. I make music, I dance often, and I laugh. It's all hilarious, really. Everything. Look around you. My children teach me a lot about life. I have five boys, and yes I'm out of my mind. It works for me though; I think this world could honestly use just a little more crazy. A lot of humanity's problems could be solved by everybody taking themselves a little less seriously. I'm grateful and alive; a constantly evolving creature, thankful for the sunshine and just as thankful for the rain... Visit my corner of the universe and share yourself! My heart could implode with welcome for you.

15 responses »

  1. “Even if it’s something as small as holding the door for a stranger; you have the power to change the world. All it takes is one gesture of kindness, and your intentions (once acted upon) become a thread of goodness, woven into the master fabric of our collective existence.”

    This.

    You just never know when the simplest act, perhaps largely (visibly) unrecognised by the recipient, can actually be the tiny spark, the tiny opening into a darkened world, that will set a new thought in motion, the thought will become an idea, the idea will taken on substance, the substance will become a belief, the belief will save that person’s world.

    Tiny acts.

    Thanks πŸ™‚

      • No worries πŸ™‚

        My Somewhere Amazing blog has changed somewhat, at least the template has! Its ‘undergoing renovation’ so in a bit of a haphazard state just now.

        I’ve had a few life changes to deal with which has affected the amount of time I can give to the blog but it does make me think more about what to write there, which is no bad thing. There is a part of me, deep down, that I am trying to reach. I don’t think I’ve really plumbed its depths yet. I’d like to try to mine it to see what lies there, to see what God has developed there, over time.

        You must be drawing from a deep well because your output is inspiring.

        πŸ™‚

    • I’m a perpetual optimist myself, but the increasing close-mindedness and hurried thoughtlessness of my interactions with people lately can (admittedly) be discouraging. This venue of deeper thinking compels me to have hope as well. Thank you for reading magic woman! (P.S. You do know you’re on my blogroll, right? Couldn’t remember if I let you know. Anyway, much love to ya sister!)

  2. Wow..just WOW..I’m going to print this and hang it at work and at home.

    The quotes are gorgeous, but the one that really hits me hardest is the one about waking up to only what you thanked God for yesterday..wowza.

    I’m trying to work on my spirituality, just because I feel It’s lacking in a life where I do nothing but rush rush rush…and a push was what I needed. An inspiration. I have it now.

    I read part of this yesterday, and only got to the part about using people and loving things and I had to stop and work, but it stuck with me, your words. And last night, as I was trying my damndest to get my child to go to sleep so I could clean my disaster if a house, I stopped. It was 10:30 and I thought…in ten years, my little gorgeous baby will be almost 13. He won’t lay down and let me stoke his hair and back, and even if he did, he won’t point to his neck in just the one spot that he likes the most when I stop..and I just lived right in that very moment.

    My mind stopped doing inventory of what I thought needed to be done and I just breathed in his beauty and innocence and all the love that was there in that moment.

    The cleaning still got done, albeit later in the night, and my soul felt happy.

    Thank you, you beautiful angel of words, you life inspiring poet, you embodiment of beauty and love.

  3. “…and a push was what I needed. An inspiration. I have it now.”

    If you were the only one to read this post, and that is the only thing that came from it, I could retire from blogging with a deep satisfaction that my words had a purpose somehow. Honestly. I’m so encouraged by your sincere appreciation of what I’ve shared; funny how much we can be blessed by being a blessing. Awesome.

    Furthermore, the fact that you took a thoughtful pause from the perpetual cleaning/rushing/doing-this-and-that-before-collapsing-in-bed — specifically to use your precious time to cherish and embrace your precious child — well, that strikes a major chord for me. I’m so completely relating to you, it’s preposterous. With five boys and a cranky husband and constant migraines myself (on top of ADD), I constantly go to bed regretting the opportunities I didn’t take each day to let the house simply remain trashed and actually BE with my kids. Just BE. Just wrestle, and tickle them, and read to them, and allow them to yell over one another about the details of their day at kindergarten without losing my patience or getting overwhelmed by the sheer volume of them all excitedly talking at once… This past week, I have intentionally enjoyed my children, in all their constant nonsense, REFUSING to be dissuaded by the wretched state of our home. I committed myself to being present in the moment, and the unspeakable beauty that has come from it has had a profound impact on my psyche…

    …My headaches: vanished. Ironic, isn’t it?

    I’m so happy you’ve taken that same chance to experience the stuff that matters; the stiff we can’t get back once its gone. Our dishes will still need washing after our kids fly the coup. πŸ™‚

    As for your spirituality, I’ll offer this (and mind you, it’s only my point of view but maybe it’ll speak to you somehow):

    It doesn’t really need “work”. It is who you are. It is where you came from. It is what you are made of. Everything divine, you have resting within you. Unconditional love; truth; compassion; grace; mercy. If ever in doubt, check your pulse. Find it? There’s the proof that divinity still flows through you.

    It isn’t about perfection. It was never a product of being holy; we are all human, living in a hurting human world, leading messy human lives. God didn’t create a universe with a few mistakes; He knew what He was doing. And so many people miss the big picture because they are misled to believe it’s about “being” a certain way, or “believing” a specific ideology. That’s BS. Whether or not you believe in gravity, whether you are 85 pounds or 375 pounds; if you jump off a ten story building, gravity will kill you. Whether or not you understand it, whether or not you thought you could survive by “being” lightweight enough, it is what it is. On the flipside, gravity also prevents us from drifting outside of our atmosphere and exploding from the pressure. Gravity keeps us grounded. It keeps the planets in perfect alignment to the Sun. So whether or not you believe gravity applies to you, it is an undeniable aspect of human existence.

    God is kinda like gravity. He holds all things together, functioning in perfect rhythm.

    His love is not something we can earn. It’s already ours. The price is already paid. That’s what grace is. In spite of all of our human-ness, He looks at us like we look at our three year old babies; perfect. The meaning of the universe. His everything. And I don’t care what any religious Nazi says; that is biblical. It’s at the heart of everything God is… LOVE.

    Thank you for your kindness, for taking the time to process (and so deeply appreciate) what I write. That means so much to me.

    Love.

  4. It’s almost sad how often my brain works like this. At night my heart breaks for the simplest things that will someday not be available, from the small areas of green that are becoming condos to the older people I love and adore, and my dog. It is almost less comfortable for me to be in a place of comfort than to be in a state of acute heartbreak because with acute heartbreak, I can mourn what once was. With normal comfort and joy, I mourn the eventual loss and try to be as good as I can with what is here now, with the tools I have. I don’t always do the best job; this post is a great reminder that A) I’m not crazy for thinking that way and B) Regardless of what will happen, I can be in love with love and the world right now, and be grateful, instead of thinking about the eventual sadness and letting that prevent me from creating more joy and comfort for others.

Speak to me...

