a gardener in her garden

Standard
a gardener in her garden

In the summer
I planted an abundance of things
Following the seeds I had planted
Before, in the spring

It was too late for most of the flowers to grow
They told me ‘we are seeds
Too late to be sown’

But I laughed and I did it anyway.

As a child, I never learned how to walk;
I ran.

I never learned how to crawl, or to grieve;
I ran.

I never learned patience, or poise, or popularity;
I ran.

So here I am:
A woman now.
My running shoes worn down through the tread,
And I’m making time to see, embrace, accept;
Reaching out with empty hands to share the stories of my journeys
With the ones I always held so dear;

Only now, they’re all too busy running.

Winter is knocking,
On a door I didn’t see.

My spring has all but left me
Taking with it all its seeds

Blooming flowers and trees
Babies, and their leaves
Fall peacefully on the ground of my longing.

But the summer left behind a huge harvest of impossibilities:
Flowers, massive and so massively
Blooming.
Blossomed.

It’s fifty-eight degrees
and I am picking
Fields of flowers
That once promised not to bloom.

But who am I to give them to?

And so
I keep on running.

About Brandy Desiree

"Call on me, and I will show you great and unsearchable things you do not know." --Jeremiah 33:3 I am a seeker. A lover. A doer. A thinker. I make music, I dance often, and I laugh. It's all hilarious, really. Everything. Look around you. My children teach me a lot about life. I have five boys, and yes I'm out of my mind. It works for me though; I think this world could honestly use just a little more crazy. A lot of humanity's problems could be solved by everybody taking themselves a little less seriously. I'm grateful and alive; a constantly evolving creature, thankful for the sunshine and just as thankful for the rain... Visit my corner of the universe and share yourself! My heart could implode with welcome for you.

6 responses »

  1. I just planted seeds! Dill, Sage, Coriander, Swiss Chard, flax, lentils, adzuki…Ha, it’s really late now though. They might not grow to fruition. They are fun to watch! And they are happy, and I’ll have to just see. It’s good to know that yours came even in the chilliness! They are so lovely. Bringing light and inspiration to people across the globe who think “Maybe it is too late for these seeds.”

    • I love that!! I actually just got a couple of Goji Berry plants from a lovely horticulturist nearby in trade for some of my white wax beans and bean sprouts. They are doing lovely! Though I doubt I’ll get a harvest until next season. So exciting! Go you sister. I’d like to hear how your seeds do!

Speak to me...

