Breathe! Breathe in the air…

Standard
Breathe! Breathe in the air…

We run circles around ourselves in attempt to maintain order amidst the increasingly chaotic and overwhelming responsibilities that govern our existence. We chase our to-do list into a perpetual tomorrow, as it snowballs itself into a mountain of unsorted papers of things we should have taken care of but couldn’t seem to manage to find the time to complete. We invariably waste hours of our lives attempting to sort through these paper Mount Everests hoping to eliminate the impending sense of dread and failure by minimizing the amount of random lists and consolidating them into one giant new list, but then we remember all of the things on today’s list that also never got taken care of because we were making an enormously pointless attempt at litter-reduction — which manages to accumulate into a deepening feeling of doom on our heavy hearts and frazzled minds. It’s a circle-jerk, for lack of a better term.

Being low in the attention span department myself, this is highly autobiographical and yet I know without hesitation that it speaks on some level to us all. With the million gadgets and trillion sources of non-stop stimulation, we have become (collectively speaking) a species of Now-or-Never. The to-do lists are less literal than metaphorical, but it seems notable that our brains have acquired the capacity to perform best when overworked. While that sounds appealing, I’m not actually convinced it’s true. I think our brains were made just fine to begin with, and we’re all lying to ourselves if we claim that overkill is a necessary factor in our own ability to process information and effectively conduct all of our affairs in the most optimal fashion.

I think you should give your synapses a break from the ongoing madness of when you were supposed to get what done at which place before whoever needs a ride to that one thing and then the world falls apart because you forgot everything except the list consolidation.

I think you should join me and turn your phone off, leave the emails for tomorrow, put your mind on pause and go for a walk. Go take a hot bath. Read a pointless book, for no reason other than soothing the soul. Make some real food, with fresh ingredients, take three hours to cook it if that’s your thing, with some perfectly ridiculously wonderful music playing while you do it. Barefoot. Naked. Whatever.

Take a moment (or five-hundred and fifty-seven moments, consecutively) to let your spirit remember what life is supposed to feel like. You know; alive.

I promise, the to-do lists can wait one more day.

 

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mrojrDCI02k

 

12 responses »

  1. Such truth! Such encouragement! (Even though your first paragraph got me thinking about my to-do list.) I agree that our gadgets and overactivity are destroying us. As a society, we’re being gutted from the middle. I’m going to slow my part of that down by reading the pointless book you mentioned. 🙂

    • Dude!!! Yes!!! 🙂 (I know most intelligent people have a certain distaste for that word but I can’t break the habit of using it. Even towards my female folk. Oh well.)

      Hey, funny thing on that note. The Sabbath and such. I’ve worn my vocal chords to shreds explaining to the über-religious type why the New Testament explains that it is the heart of a man that honors God, not the traditions he keeps or the laws he abides. I love your reference!! Here’s proof in the pudding:

      (Mark 2:23-27 NLT) One Sabbath day as Jesus was walking through some grainfields, his disciples began breaking off heads of grain to eat. 24 But the Pharisees said to Jesus, “Look, why are they breaking the law by harvesting grain on the Sabbath?”

      25 Jesus said to them, “Haven’t you ever read in the Scriptures what David did when he and his companions were hungry? 26 He went into the house of God (during the days when Abiathar was high priest) and broke the law by eating the sacred loaves of bread that only the priests are allowed to eat. He also gave some to his companions.”

      ——> 27 Then Jesus said to them, “The Sabbath was made to meet the needs of people, and not people to meet the requirements of the Sabbath.

      Not to get all tangential on you, but given our previous conversations I thought you’d appreciate that food for thought, as an affirmation if what you’ve said so often. People get so caught up in the religious spirit that they lose touch with the Holy Spirit.

      God created His order for our lives not as a means of making us prove our worthiness of His love (impossible), but because He actually loves us and He knew what’s best for us. He ordained our day of rest out of love. We should take it! 🙂

      • Yep… “And he said unto them, The sabbath was made for man, and not man for the sabbath”…
        It’s a living thing that changes a bit with each day/minute… I look at it this way: if Father says to take a break one day each week then I will (hey, it’s fun!)… then if I take the same day as He does, well I can hang out with him – just like a child might with his dad… but if I’m out all over the place doing ‘stuff’, He’s sitting in the living room waiting for me & missing me.
        Not to get tangential on you :-), but this works pretty much literally… it’s not about **I HAVE to** it’s about **I WANT to**. (I’ve been living this pretty much for 40+ years now, so am speaking from real experience here – not theory or hearsay).

  2. I turn off Saturday mornings – head to the gym or outdoors and then usually for a few hours on Sunday as well as a few times throughout the week. Good to put down the technology – thanks for the reminder. By the way loving your blog – glad JT introduced me to your blog. Happy Friday!

  3. I love how concise you are..I wish my thoughts could arrange themselves! I feel like you are a much smarter person in my head!

    I am a person of lists who curses herself when she forgets to write something on a list, or, even better, forgets the notebook she keeps her lists in, or cannot find it when she needs to write the stupid thing in.

    I love the info on the Sabbath..it’s so beautiful to read things I totally forgot about, and on a level I understand and can relate to.

Speak to me...

