Lying in Wait

Standard
Lying in Wait

The beauty of a flower is admired by its bold colors, and its delicacy.

But something God showed me is the beauty that no one thinks much about; as the sun has set and the colors and delicacy are no longer visible, the beauty of the flower lies in its striking poise, its silent confidence as it reaches itself higher towards the sky above as if longing for the suns’s touch. The flower sits contrasted against a big blue everything, and in the stillness of the night it grows into its own perfect unseen beauty. The flower’s roots reach deeper down into the sleeping earth as the night slips over it like a gentle sorrow. It learns a new peace. And if we look closely enough, we discover a concrete beauty that can’t be seen in the delicacy of daylight. We see a force of life that rests wakefully in waiting for the world to arise from its slumber.

Sitting patiently in the unknowing is actually what true strength looks like. The colorful beauty follows from the quiet strength.

About Brandy Desiree

"Call on me, and I will show you great and unsearchable things you do not know." --Jeremiah 33:3 I am a seeker. A lover. A doer. A thinker. I make music, I dance often, and I laugh. It's all hilarious, really. Everything. Look around you. My children teach me a lot about life. I have five boys, and yes I'm out of my mind. It works for me though; I think this world could honestly use just a little more crazy. A lot of humanity's problems could be solved by everybody taking themselves a little less seriously. I'm grateful and alive; a constantly evolving creature, thankful for the sunshine and just as thankful for the rain... Visit my corner of the universe and share yourself! My heart could implode with welcome for you.

9 responses »

  1. So too with all God’s creations. Can you imagine how different the world would be if we looked at all things in search of the beauty under the surface???? Other human beings – even the ones we don’t agree with or understand, natural resources, landfill usage, and the great mystery of death. There is much to be gained from your insights. The list is endless and I thank you for coaxing this realization out into the light of day. Blessings and peace to you. Look forward to reading more. Z

    • Your comments are at the very heart, at the very center, of my post.

      Beauty is deeper than the exterior attraction of any person, object, place, or feeling. Beauty is not always the initial good fluffy feeling we get from something. More accurately, deep and lasting beauty, the kind of beauty that actually means something, is what lies underneath the instant gratification… If it feels good, looks good, sounds good, tastes good, or makes us feel good, great. But does that immediately equate to beauty? Not usually.

      Much like a difficult lesson we learn, the thing that makes it beautiful is the way in which it meant something, after the fact.

      Beauty is a reflection, not a perception.

      Difficult for us to understand when we are face to face with a feel-good moment. But when it feels meaningful long after it has ended, we can know without reservation that we were a part of beauty’s becoming.

      Thank you for such an inspiring comment Beth. Wonderful words. Beautiful heart.

      šŸ˜‰

  2. Brandy, glad you are finally showing off your skills. This post is beautiful, passionate and art. I could picture nature as you explained the flower and the sunset, wonderful example of patience too. I could not write like this, as my abilities just are different. You have the skill of an artist of words.

Speak to me...

