one simple thought from an unsimple mind

Standard
one simple thought from an unsimple mind

As a little girl, I knew enough about life to understand that the world is full of chaos because everybody could simply use a little more love.

As a woman, I know enough about life to understand that the world is full of chaos because everybody’s idea of love is different…

And the world just keeps on spinning.

About Brandy Desiree

"Call on me, and I will show you great and unsearchable things you do not know." --Jeremiah 33:3 I am a seeker. A lover. A doer. A thinker. I make music, I dance often, and I laugh. It's all hilarious, really. Everything. Look around you. My children teach me a lot about life. I have five boys, and yes I'm out of my mind. It works for me though; I think this world could honestly use just a little more crazy. A lot of humanity's problems could be solved by everybody taking themselves a little less seriously. I'm grateful and alive; a constantly evolving creature, thankful for the sunshine and just as thankful for the rain... Visit my corner of the universe and share yourself! My heart could implode with welcome for you.

8 responses »

  1. Many people grow up to reject their inner child and feel as if the constructed environment around them can tell them better. This leads them to external reassurance rather than internal strength. Wonderful post!

    • Ooo!! Yeah!! Powerful revelation you have there:

      External reinforcement/assurance/approval/acceptance are oppositional to inner strength. Wow.

      As a double major in Philosophy and Psychology, I am deeply moved by the implications of what you’ve suggested. Great comment, beautiful mind.

    • In fact, this very idea was at the heart of one of my term papers… The most widely accepted theory regarding human behavior can be understood in terms of the individual person’s specific motivations for every action. This theory suggests that there is a constant driving force at work within the psyche of each individual, and his/her behavior is always indicative of the underlying goal. Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs breaks down human psychology into five basic functions, and suggests that any specific behavior is the result of the person’s goal orientation.

      Quite simply, “what purpose will my actions serve?”

      As a hierarchy, the categories break down in pyramid form, Self Actualization being the “highest” driving need by which behavior can be understood, and Physiology (food, sex, sleep) being the least psychologically evolved force by which we behave.

      The only motivation that drives our behavior as a means of psychological growth is self-actualization.

      All four underlying motivations are based on deprivation. This theory indicates that almost all of human behavior stems from basic, unenlightened needs for survival. Even our “need” for acceptance is considered a primitive force that drives our actions.

      To sum it up, it reveals that we are all in varying stages of motivation. Only the few truly enlightened beings, the ones who have mastered their fear of deprivation and function outside the realm of their ego are truly operating from a pure place of acquiring their own psychological growth.

      In the more basic perspective like I originally wrote here, it’s true… Everyone’s needs are different. Everyone’s values are different. And we suffer needlessly because we project our own personal motivations onto others, assuming they see things as we do.

  2. If Love is (because it is what it is, not what we think it is) then the different ideas of love imply not Love – or at least not full Love… so I would think that the little girl had it right, “…everybody could simply use a little more love.”
    Sorry, it’s just that I’ve found that generally, little ones’ views tend to contain more Life which implies…
    (so I try to remind people when I can do so in a positive manner)
    M

    • That noggin a yours must got some sorta magic juice flowin through it. πŸ™‚

      You just articulated precisely what I was implying.

      As a child, I thought like a child. Yes. But children think in terms of the macro-world in which they live. They don’t get caught up in the micro-nonsense and useless complexities that humans tend to acquire a fondness of as they mature. So sad, really. These complexities are given an undue holy credence, you know. And they are nothing but a murmur in a great fog. The simplest perspectives are typically the most pure. Wisdom is innocent. Knowledge is defiled understanding we acquire on a human level.

      I believe children come into this world with a sharpest wisdom. A spiritual insight into the order of all things.

      We lose sight of that amongst the relentless bickering and debating and fistfighting with our own demons.

      At some point, we must all return to the understanding from which we came.

      Perfect clarity of insight, dear friend. Beautiful.

Speak to me...

