Running the race.

Standard
Running the race.

The race is not the road that lies before you; it’s not the speed at which you travel or the milestones you pass or the distance between you and your goals, or the world’s standards, or the accomplishments or failures or lessons you’ve experienced. I’ve learned that the race is actually the person you become one moment at a time, the person you are becoming, and the person you used to be… All teamed up into one perfect being, putting one foot in front of the other as you step into the destiny God planned for you. It doesn’t matter how you get there, how soon it happens or how long it takes… Because there is no place of arrival. There is no finish line. No certain place of aim; no course of direction… It’s a fluid journey across the vastness–and the limits–of time. It arrives as quickly as it passes. And it’s painful, and it’s joyful. It’s harsh, and it’s rewarding. It’s as unpredictable as it is intuitive: the process of becoming.

We are never the same person, from one day to the next. We are rainbows of uncertainty, brightly shining in the various shades of how we feel. Like quicksand, we step into our future with as much confidence as we have fear. As much courage as we have doubt. Life has a way of teaching us all how incredibly small we are… People disappoint us. Our expectations lead us into a sense of understanding that we soon discover bears no weight in reality. We are all minnows swimming upstream against wild currents and all odds.

But that’s the beauty of it. That’s the greatness of our God. That’s how much faith He has in us, to set us free in a violent world and believe that we will find our way back to His truth.

It’s a gift. Some people never see it that way. But to those of us who do, how great–and how perfect–is the race. One day, one moment, one feeling, at a time.

About Brandy Desiree

"Call on me, and I will show you great and unsearchable things you do not know." --Jeremiah 33:3 I am a seeker. A lover. A doer. A thinker. I make music, I dance often, and I laugh. It's all hilarious, really. Everything. Look around you. My children teach me a lot about life. I have five boys, and yes I'm out of my mind. It works for me though; I think this world could honestly use just a little more crazy. A lot of humanity's problems could be solved by everybody taking themselves a little less seriously. I'm grateful and alive; a constantly evolving creature, thankful for the sunshine and just as thankful for the rain... Visit my corner of the universe and share yourself! My heart could implode with welcome for you.

6 responses »

  1. this is a such a great & inspiring post. Sometimes I get scared that I will never make my dreams come true, while I’m here and living. That’s just it, we’re all here and living and striving for what we think is success. But the success is appreciating and remembering the beauty of life. How easy it is to forget. Thank you for the reminder

  2. The race is the process of defining who we are and what we learn from each day we are in it. Like your post. WELCOME! Thank you for subscribing to follow my blog. I hope you are encouraged, inspired and enjoy the photos I take concerning life and events as seen through the eyes of my camera.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Speak to me...

